top of page
Dao Clinic - cat hiding his face in a pillow to picture grief and loss


Grief and loss are natural emotional responses to significant life events, such as the death of a loved one, loss of a job, or the end of a relationship.

The grieving process is typically experienced through seven stages:

  1. Shock and disbelief: Initial numbness and denial.

  2. Denial: Difficulty accepting the reality of the loss.

  3. Anger: Frustration and resentment towards the situation.

  4. Bargaining: Attempts to negotiate or make deals to reverse the loss.

  5. Depression: Deep sadness and a sense of hopelessness.

  6. Acceptance: Coming to terms with the loss and its implications.

  7. Integration: Moving forward and finding meaning in life again.

While grieving is a normal process, it can become pathological if it persists for an extended period. In Chinese medicine, pathological grief is typically considered when it lasts for more than three years. This prolonged grief may result from an imbalance in the body's energy, or "Qi," which can disrupt the harmonious flow of energy through the meridians and affect emotional well-being.

Chinese medicine practitioners can help patients cope with grief and loss by addressing the underlying imbalances through a holistic approach that includes: acupuncture, Herbal remedies,  Tui Na, Qi Gong and Tai Chi, Dietary therapy

bottom of page